Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Yellow Sun Blues LP

SUNX 7063

Product Description

Remastered, Limited Edition, Numbered, Translucent Blue Vinyl with 6 panel color bonus booklet.

When African people were brought to America, their music developed in two distinctive branches: one, the religious moans that lead to spirituals and ultimately gospel music, and the other, field hollers and arhoolies that gave birth to the blues, which in turn ultimately let to jazz, rhythm and blues, rock and roll and soul. The location for much of this synthesis and transition was the rural Delta areas of Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas and Tennessee, along the Mississippi River, and the city of Memphis was directly in the center of this region. When engineer Sam Phillips opened the Memphis Recording Service in 1950, he expected to be documenting weddings and birthdays, but he ended up documenting something far more momentous, the electrification of rural blues, its transition to rhythm and blues and the dawn of rock & roll.

Track Listing:

  1. Cotton Crop Blues (James Cotton)
  2. Next Time I See You (Little Milton)
  3. Boogie In The Park (Joe Hill Louis)
  4. T-Model Boogie (Roscoe Gordon)
  5. Crawl Back (Frank Frost)
  6. Mystery Train (Little Junior Parker)
  7. Tiger Man (Rufus Thomas Jr)
  8. Juke Box Boogie (Doctor Ross)
  9. Feel So Good (Billy "The Kid" Emerson)
  10. Just Walking In The Rain (Prisonaires)
  11. Signifying Monkey (Smokey Joe Baugh)
  12. Rocking Chair Daddy (Harmonica Frank)

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category